ASBK Round 4 – Barbagallo Raceway (WA), 3-5th June

Posted by Tank Slapper | Blog |
June 09, 2016

Round four of the 2016 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship saw teams venture to the far west to compete at Barbagallo Raceway in WA. DesmoSport Ducati rider Mike Jones put together a strong weekend.

ASBK Round 4 – Barbagallo Raceway (WA), 3-5th June

Wayne Maxwell celebrating with a burnout. Photo: Motorcycling Australia 

Taking out the Pirelli Superpole on Saturday and going on to win the first race on Sunday, a maiden victory for the Desmo team in their first season. A third place in race two meant Jones scored second overall for the weekend. Team co-owner and three-time world superbike champion, Troy Bayliss said, “we’re making progress all the time and Mike obviously had a really good weekend here in WA”.

It is Yamaha Racing Team’s, Wayne Maxwell, who scored the overall round victory making it two in a row for the Victorian rider. With a second and first place results putting him in the championship lead ahead of teammate Glenn Allerton. It was a bittersweet third place overall for Allerton who was off to a promising weekend, leading the sheets on Friday’s practice, then second on Saturday before being relegated to third during the Pirelli SuperPole.

It was a fantastic race weekend for YRT supported, but non-factory rider, Daniel Falzon. He claimed the lap record and managed a 5th and 4th in the two races, resulting in fourth overall for the weekend ahead of Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team rider Troy Herfoss. The championship standings now see Maxwell in front with 176 points, Allerton next with 171 followed by Herfoss in third on 158. The next round is held at Queensland’s Morgan Park Raceway on the 5-7th of August.

Written by Paul Joshua



ASBK Race Recap

Products from